Nottingham College Board Members

All members of the Corporation are holders of public office and abide by the Nolan Principles of public life. The Corporation has several different categories of members to reflect the community it serves, below is the current list of members. 

The Corporation meets 10 times a year to undertake its responsibilities and ensure the strategic aims of the college are met. The Instrument and Articles of Government require the Corporation to have an Audit Committee and a Search Committee working alongside the Corporation with terms of reference agreed by the Corporation. Each Committee has a membership made up of representatives of the Governing Body and report back to the Corporation on a regular basis.

The Governance and Search Committee of the Corporation always welcome applications from interested members of the community to join the Corporation. If you wish to know more about applying you can download the following information or contact the Clerk by going to the Contact Us page.


Name Positions on the Board Current Role
Carole Thorogood Chair HR Director at Freeths LLP
Mary Carswell Vice Chair:
Chair of Excellence Committee;
Chair of Audit Committee
Retired Pro Vice Chancellor at Birmingham City University
Michael Wisher Vice Chair Director of Michael Wisher Associates
Councillor Sam Webster Board Member Nottingham City Councillor and Portfolio Holder
Gill Lane Board Member Retired University Lecturer
Anja Beriro Board Member Partner in the Government & Infrastructure Team at law firm Browne Jacobson LLP
Trevor Clay Member of Finance Committee and Finance Committee Retired FE Principal
Andrew Dickinson Board Member Retired from Rolls Royce after a career in international business leadership & finance
Richard Donovan Board Member Communications Expert at Experian
Stephen Russell Chair of the Audit Committee and Board Member Chartered Accountant
Andrew Unitt Board member Retired Finance Director with experience in UK and international organisations, latterly at the University of Nottingham
Becki Pate Staff Governor Staff Member at Nottingham College
Debra French Staff Governor Staff Member at Nottingham College - Staff Development Business Partner
John van de Laarschot Board Member CEO at Nottingham College