On Monday 22nd February 2021, the Prime Minister announced that from 8th March, colleges are to reopen to all students and resume face to face teaching and learning. — Read more

It looks like you have JavaScript turned off

Pretty much everything should work. But you may find some components look slightly off as a result. You can find out what JavaScript is here. If you don't have JavaScript turned off, or if something doesn't work that you think should do, please get in touch.

Members of the Governors

John van de Laarschot talking to a room of staff members
Carole Thorogood

Carole Thorogood


HR Director of Freeths LLP

Mary Carswell

Mary Carswell

Vice Chair

Retired Pro Vice Chancellor at Birmingham City University

Michael Wisher

Michael Wisher

Vice Chair: Chair of Audit Committee

Director of Michael Wisher Associates

Anja Beriro

Anja Beriro

Board Member

Partner in the Government & Infrastructure Team at law firm Browne Jacobson LLP

Richard Donovan

Richard Donovan

Board Member

Head of Social Innovation and CSR at Experian
Fellow of the Institute of Internal Communications

Andrew Unitt

Andrew Unitt

Board Member

Retired Finance Director with experience in UK and international organisations, latterly at the University of Nottingham

Andrew Dickinson

Andrew Dickinson

Board Member

Retired from Rolls Royce after a career in international business leadership and finance

Cllr Neghat Khan

Cllr Neghat Khan

Board Member

Nottingham City Councillor for Dales Ward and Portfolio Holder for Early Years, Education & Employment

Mike Green

Mike Green

Board Member

Chief Operating Officer and Director General for the Department for Education and also non-executive board member for the Houses of Parliament

Jon Hawley

Jon Hawley

Board Member

Operations Leader and Director of UNiDays, a Student Affinity Network.

Staff profile placeholder

Patricia Harman

Board Member

Retired Deputy Principal at West Nottinghamshire College, after 35 years in Further Education

John van de Laarschot

John van de Laarschot

Board Member

CEO at Nottingham College

Staff profile placeholder

Liam Sewell

Staff Governor

Staff profile placeholder

Nick Proverbs

Staff Governor

Staff profile placeholder

Claire Brookes

Student Governor

Staff profile placeholder

Henry Icke

Student Governor

Staff profile placeholder

Rachel Robson

Clerk to the Corporation

All members of the Corporation are holders of public office and abide by the Nolan Principles of public life. The Corporation has several different categories of members to reflect the community it serves, below is the current list of members.

The Corporation meets 10 times a year to undertake its responsibilities and ensure the strategic aims of the college are met. The Instrument and Articles of Government require the Corporation to have an Audit Committee and a Search Committee working alongside the Corporation with terms of reference agreed by the Corporation. Each Committee has a membership made up of representatives of the Governing Body and report back to the Corporation on a regular basis.

The Governance and Search Committee of the Corporation always welcome applications from interested members of the community to join the Corporation. If you wish to know more about applying you can download the following information or contact the Clerk by going to the Contact Us page.